The AF Site Not having SSL Deterring Some People

Hi everybody,

Apologies, I wasn’t sure if this was the optimal place to put this topic, so admins please feel free to move if you have a better alternative.

In those rare instances I have managed to engage somebody’s interest in AF and then shared the link for the site, some people have outright refused to open the link because of the site being under HTTP rather than HTTPS. I work in tech, so of course people from a technical background will have more strong opinions on this than other people out there.

In the modern era, people have been trained to fear and not risk going to any such site where an SSL certificate is not being used, even if there is no purchasing of products or personal information used on that site.

Has anybody ever discussed with Richard and whoever else under the trust that it would be better if their site had an SSL certificate?

Reach out to the directors :slight_smile: You may end up on the website.

Honestly if a site not having SSL is what deters someone from pursuing actualism… … they would not have gotten very far anyway :joy: .

But no reason not to make improvements when they can be made.

At least now there are some of other sites and this forum which I can recommend too.

Is there a grouped together section of resources?

Topics tagged resource This is probably the closest :slight_smile:

Thanks, I missed that tag… :man_facepalming:

People see it as meaning something dodgy, fake, inauthentic, ingenuine too. If I hadn’t already been introduce to AF in the days before SSL became the de facto standard, I wouldn’t have clicked on their site either. So unless I had heard about the forum or some other site first I would have never encountered AF.

If they can’t overcome their initial beliefs and prejudices enough to read the site, it’s unlikely they will find much value in it.

A tech savy person should recognize that without anything to purchase, lack of SSL shouldn’t be an issue.